You are here Home

It is easy to understand that the entire area that surrounds Foiano di Val Fortore takes its name from the river with the same name (Fortore river) that is also a natural border between the Campania, Molise and Puglia regions.

Regarding the name Foiano, there are historical sources that explain its origin comes from the Latin name “Flavius”, with the addition of the suffix “anus” that states belonging again with reference to the “Fortore River”; other sources that identify it deriving from  “Forum Jani” although the first certified name is “Fuganum” which makes us believe in a Roman “praedium Fuganum”.

It is indisputable that the first historical evidence about Foiano dates back to before the Norman age. Foiano and its territory must have been object of interest by diverse populations and cultures: Greek, Etruscans, Sanniums, Romans, Goths, Byzantines and Langobards.

In particular, during the Norman age, Foiano was the Feud of Drago; under the Angevin domination, Foiano was possessed by the Abbey of S.Maria del Gualdo Mazzocca and later by the De Capitanei from Novara; Finally it remained under the control of the Abbey of San Bartolomeo in Galdo.

It thus became a religious benefit moving from one Cardinal to another and again returned to being a Feud in the hands of Guevara from Bovino, Carafa, Gonzaga, Spinelli from Buonalbergo and Caracciolo.

In 1607 Foiano went under the civil and penal jurisdiction of the Jesuits, that maintained it until their abolition (1773).

Today Foiano di Val Fortore has about 1500 inhabitants; the village was completely reconstructed following the 1962 and 1980 earthquakes. What remains of its history are the churches “Madonna della Libera” and “S.S. Rosario” and the bell tower of the old church “S.Pietro”. All these structures have been rebuilt several times.

Come and visit us … it will be an unforgettable experience, immersed in the nature in an eco-friendly environment, reliving the past !